Before I forget

Before I forget,
let me say that I occasionally want to
reach through the nothing
but time, distance, air, electrons
that

separate

us, and grab hold of you
by the throat.
I want to pull you
back to me,
and put my mouth
on yours,
drink you whole,
and then
push you forward again,

away

from me.

I want you to
remember.
I want you to look back at me
and always remember
that I was the one
who made you bleed.
I was the one
who first made you
what you are
and showed you
all the things you wanted.
I made you worried
you were a freak,
but then I made you love that.

Before I forget,
let me say that I sort of wish
I could bite into you like a ripe apple,
listen to the crunchsweet of you
under my teeth.
I want to tear you open
and delight in your pulse,
then drop you to the ground,
a forgotten wrapper,
a pretty decoration.

I want you to
remember.
I want you to
always remember.
You think
you did this to me,
but in truth
you were always
helpless against me.
You believe
what I wanted you to believe,
what is convenient
for me,
for you
to believe.

Before I forget,
let me say
that I betimes lose myself,
and I would
look to you to find me.

Remember me.
I want you to
remember me.

Always
remember me.

3 responses to “Before I forget

  1. Jones! Well I’m back and will be going through your catalogue of lost pieces. So a question has always been to me if something or someone can be beautiful and blazingly dark all at the same time – that’s the space I think you occupy, and I’m pretty sure I don’t know anyone else who dwells there. You are balls to the wall unique, do you know that? You scare me but you never scare me away.

    Like

Talk back to me. Trust me; I'm listening.

